The Organ

In the west part of the Church of Wies above the entrance portal and under the gateway to eternity, the organ can be found - as a connection between heaven and earth. There is no more suitable place. This queen of instruments leads in life, accompanies in joy and suffering, with praise and thanks, but also in entreaties and supplications, in meditation and in rejoicing - and ultimately continues beyond this life to the heavenly liturgy.

The first organ was built by Johann Georg Hörterich from Dirlewang in 1757. Through the centuries, the organ has undergone many changes and renovations (e.g. in 1928 by the company Siemann and in 1959 by Gerhard Schmid). The present Wies organ was built in the years 2009 and 2010 by the company Claudius Winterhalter from Oberharmersbach.
In doing so we succeeded in consistently maintaining the traditionally preserved monuments of the baroque Hörterich organ, and supplementing it with a technically new organ work. Therefore, of the 2,892 pipes in 42 registers, 475 are still from the original stock of the Hörterich organ of 1757.





I/Hauptwerk C – g´´´
Bourdon 16‘, Principal 8‘, Holzflöte 8‘, Gedackt 8‘, Gamba 8’, Octave 4‘, Flöte 4‘, Fugara 4’, Quinte 3’, Superoctave 2’, Mixtur V-VI 2’, Hörnle III 2 2/3’, Trompete 8’

II/Positiv C-g´´´ in der Brüstung
Coppel Major 8’, Quintatön 8’, Principal 4’, Coppel minor 4’, Octave 2’, Quinte 1 ½’, Cimbel IV 1’, Vox humana 8’

III/Echo C-g´´´ im Schwellkasten
Principal 8’, Rohrflöte 8’, Salicional 8’, Bifara 8’, Octave 4’, Spitzflöte 4’, Nazard 2 2/3’, Flageolet 2’, Terz 1 3/5’, Mixtur IV-V 1 1/3’, Trompette 8’, Oboe 8’, Clairon 4’

Pedalwerk C – f’
Principal 16’, Subbass 16’, Octavbass 8’, Violonbass 8’, Quintbass 6’, Mixturbass V 4’, Posaune 16’, Trompete 8’

Tremulant Echo, Tremulant Positiv, Glockenspiel, Zimbelstern auf F
Koppeln: II – I, III – I, III – II, I – Ped, II – Ped, III – Ped
Trakturen: mechanische Tontraktur, kombinierte Registertraktur, elektr. Setzeranlage